top of page
Academic Achievement Award Winners

The Touchdown Club of Memphis was established in 1975 as a Civic Service Club to promote fellowship among its members through meetings and social functions and having as its sole civic endeavors the following:

I. The promotion of the sport of football and athletics, in general, for the common good and benefit of the citizens of the greater Memphis area.

II. The promotion of the City of Memphis as a National Sports City.

III. The presentation of the Academic Achievement Award to the American Football Coaches Association.

IV. The offer of financial support to a local charity.

University of Alabama, University of Cincinnati, Middle Tennessee State University, Nortwestern University, University of Utah, Utah State University, and University of Virginia receive 2017 AFCA Academic Achievement Award

Academic Achievement Award Winners Through the Years

2016: Miami (Fla.), Northwestern, & Stanford
2015: Duke & Vanderbilt
2014: Duke, Northwestern, Notre Dame, & Stanford
2013: Rice, Stanford, Georgia, & Tulane
2012: Northwestern & Stanford
2011: Boise State & Miami (Ohio)
2010: Northwestern & Rice
2009: Notre Dame & Miami (Fla.)
2008: Vanderbilt University
2007: Northwestern & Notre Dame
2006: SMU
2005: Duke & Northwestern
2004: Boston College & Northwestern
2003: Duke
2002: Northwestern
2001: Notre Dame & Vanderbilt
2000: Syracuse
1999: Duke
1998: Northwestern
1997: Duke*
1996: Boston College, Duke & Vanderbilt*
1995: Boston College, Duke & Wake Forest*
1994: Duke*
1993: Duke*
1992: Boston College & TCU*
1991: Notre Dame*
1990: Duke*
1989: Kentucky*
1988: Notre Dame*
1987: Duke*
1986: Virginia*
1985: Virginia*
1984: Duke & Notre Dame*
1983: Notre Dame*
1982: Notre Dame*
1981: Duke*

*- Presented by the College Football Association

bottom of page